|
I have recently been looking to buy a macbook pro for a reasonable price. However, what I have learned recently is that there are lots and lots of scammers on the internet just waiting for the unsuspecting bargain hunters to fall into one of their well planned traps. In the past couple of weeks I have come across at least 6 dodgy people trying to take my hard earned cash. What has taken me by surprise is how many scam merchants are out there lying in wait for the naïve internet user. There must be many thousands of newbies being scammed for large amounts of cash everyday. Ebay, craigslist, yahoo auctions and classifieds, I have come across them in all of these places. I have now come to the conclusion that the internet is infested with these people. So BUYERS OF EXPENSIVE ITEMS, LOOKING FOR A GENUINE BARGAIN BEWARE.
I replied to this ad on craigslist yesterday evening:
MacBook Pro 2.16GHz Intel Core Duo - £780
Reply to: [email]sale-295490916@craigslist.org[/email] Date: 2007-03-17, 12:38PM GMT
Product Family: MacBook Pro Processor Type: Intel Core Duo Processor Speed: 2.16 GHz Memory (RAM): 2 GB Hard Drive Capacity: 100 GB Operating System: Mac OS 10.4, Tiger Screen Size: 15 inches Condition: New
Welcome to my auction. I hope this is the item you have been waiting to find.
This MacBook has all that you need in a portable computer. It has a 2.16GHz processor, 2GB of RAM, 256MB Video RAM, 100GB Hard Drive, Airport and Bluetooth 2.0. computer is genteelly used and is in pristine condition. I am selling this beauty because I have purchased the current Core 2 Duo version of the MacBook Pro's.
This computer comes with Mac OS 10.4.6.
This MacBook is great for any student to any Professional.
I have included the new accessories from my new MacBook Pro so esentially this is virtually a new MacBook Pro.
Link to ad: [url]http://london.craigslist.org/sys/295490916.html[/url]
I received this reply a few hours later:
Richard Ferguson to me 4:05 am (13 hours ago) Hello, The mac is still available. I am out of the country for busines but the mac is already at the shipping company. We will do the transaction with a secure and authorized shipping company: [url]www.truckingcorporation.com[/url]. If you want to do the deal through them send me your full name and address. First name: Last name: Address: City: Postal code: Country: You will have 7 days to inspect the mac. Once you will have the tracking number you will verify it and then you will go and provide the payment. You will send the payment details to the company and only after you receive the item to inspect for 7 days i will be able to receive the payment details for picking up the money and only if you want to keep it... Reply me soon! Thank you!
I went straight to whois to check out truckingcorporation.com. Here is the whois info on the site:
Registrant: WhoisProtector Inc. (truckingcorporation.com) 550 Burrard Street, Suite 200
Vancouver, BC V6C 2B5 Canada
Registrar: DomainPeople, Inc.
Domain Name: truckingcorporation.com Created on .............Fri Mar 23 05:04:59 2007 Expires on .............Sun Mar 23 05:04:59 2008 Record last updated on .Fri Mar 23 06:05:08 2007 Status .................LOCK
Administrative Contact: WhoisProtector Inc. WhoisProtector Inc. 550 Burrard Street, Suite 200
Vancouver, BC V6C 2B5, CA ()604-688-8974 () [email]truckingcorporation.com@mail1.whoisprotector.com[/email]
Technical Contact: WhoisProtector Inc. WhoisProtector Inc. 550 Burrard Street, Suite 200
Vancouver, BC V6C 2B5, CA ()604-688-8974 () [email]truckingcorporation.com@mail1.whoisprotector.com[/email]
Domain servers in listed order: a.dns.hostway.net 66.113.129.243 b.dns.hostway.net 64.26.0.115
(truckingcorporation.com)
The domain name was created on 23rd March 2007, 5 days ago. the sites design looks professional, but this is obviously another scam website. I will be posting this scam in as many forums as I can in the hope that someone will read this before they part with their cash to these people. Although, I may be able to expose this site on forums like this, they only need to change the domain name to hide themselves again.
My reply to scammer, alias Richard Ferguson, to which I have recieved no reply:
4:05 am (14 hours ago) Basilius to Richard Hey SCAMMER, I can't believe you'd think I"d be stupid enough to trust a 4 day old "shipping company". I WILL BE TAKING FURTHER ACTION REGARDING YOU AND YOUR SITE!
Here is an earlier scam I found, whilst searching for the same item: [url]http://www.resellerratings.com/forum/showthread.php?t=125739[/url] Basilius Bebington Merseyside,United Kingdom
|